GROUPS

A place to come share, learn, and connect with other parents and caregivers of individuals of all different abilities. This group is open to the community and typically meets at 7:30PM on the 3rd Thursday of each month via Zoom due to COVID precautions. Contact Susan Perkins at susan.perkins@opad.org!

This group is open to all Spanish-speaking caregivers of people with developmental and intellectual disabilities. It typically meets on the 2nd Monday of each month via Zoom. For more information, contact Alina Valadez at alina.valadez@opad.org!

Hang Out Jr. is a group designed to give elementary school-aged children with autism an opportunity to hang out in a supportive environment and practice social strategies. For more information, please contact Dan Bressler at dan.bressler@opad.org!

Hang Out Sr. is a group designed to give middle and high school-aged children with autism an opportunity to hang out in a supportive environment and practice social strategies. For more information, please contact Lauren Erickson at lauren.erickson@opad.org!

These monthly parent talks are an opportunity to learn about child development topics that will help strengthen your parenting skills and relationships with you children! Each month there will be a different topic discusses. They are typically held on the 4th Tuesday of the month via Zoom.

For more information contact Christina Jacobson at christina.jacobson@opad.org

Monthly Parent Cafes for Spanish Speaking caregivers are an opportunity to learn about child development topics that will help strengthen your parenting skills and relationships with you children! Each month a different topic will be discussed. They are typically held on the 4th Wednesday of the month via Zoom.  For more information contact Alina Valadez at alina.valadez@opad.org

Social Skills groups utilize multiple Social Thinking curricula and strive to teach children and adolescents on the autism spectrum that importance of understanding themselves and their peers! For more information, contact Lauren Erickson at lauren.erickson@opad.org

Respite is one of the most common resources requested by family and one of the most challenging to find. This is why Options & Advocacy and First Church of Crystal Lake are so pleased to announce that there is a FREE respite opportunity available right here in McHenry County!

PEERS is an evidence-based social curriculum for teenagers and young adults on the autism spectrum who are interested in making and keeping friends. Participants and caregivers each attend weekly 90-minute sessions addressing topics including conversational skills, finding friends, using humor, and handling conflict. For more information, contact Dan Bressler at dan.bressler@opad.org!

Sibshops are workshop groups for 8-14 year old siblings of kids with special needs. Groups meet monthly from September-May! For more information, contact Charlie Sullivan at charliejsullivan85@gmail.com!

The purpose of Discovery Group is to offer an opportunity for adults on the autism spectrum to build friendships with one another. The group engages in discussions about life, goals, and strategies and occasionally hosts guest speakers. For more information, contact Darbi Carbone at darbi.carbone@opad.org!